Events calendar

Thursday, February 04, 2021
11:00 am ET

2021 New England virtual Sea Summit

Event Description

The University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Farm to Institution New England (FINE) welcome you to attend the virtual 2021 New England Sea Summit focused on leveraging institutions to support local seafood producers, kelp and underutilized species. Speakers will share how a team of colleges and supply chain partners tackled procurement issues through a 2018 New England Food Vision Prize from the Henry P. Kendall Foundation. Learn more about the challenges and opportunities of producing and sourcing farmed kelp and underutilized fish species in New England. Speakers will also share how they worked to bring underutilized species into community and university dining programs, even with the added challenges presented by a global pandemic. 

Keynote Speakers

  • Briana Warner, CEO of Atlantic Sea Farms
  • Barton Seaver, Chef, and Author of The Joy of Seafood
  • Kate Masury, Program Director, Eating with the Ecosystem 

Panelists

  • Jamey Lionette, Director of Red’s Best Sustainable Seafood Program
  • Tom Barton, Executive Chef at Northeastern University
  • Kevin Gibbons, Executive Chef at UMass Dartmouth 
  • Suzie Flores, Owner of Stonington Kelp Company
  • Bill Blount, Life-long Massachusetts Fisherman

 

Sea Summit Info & Registration

3:30 pm ET

The Economic Benefits of Dramatically Expanding Healthy Food Incentives

Start: 12:30 p.m (PT), 1:30 (MT), 2:30 (CT), 3:30 (ET)
Length: 1 hour


For over a decade, healthy food incentive programs have increased the purchasing power of low-income families to buy fruits and vegetables at grocery stores and farmers’ markets. Research has long demonstrated that these programs reduce hunger, improve nutrition and support local agriculture and retail. What wasn’t understood until now is how large the economic impact could be if these programs were expanded statewide — or even nationwide. Learn about a powerful new study conducted by Colorado State University, in partnership with SPUR, Fair Food Network and 10 partners from around the country, that models the economic return, in revenue and jobs, if policymakers supported a deep investment in scaling up these programs.

Co-presented by SPUR and Fair Food Network.

Holly Parker / Fair Food Network
+ Ronit Ridberg / UC Davis
+ Dawn Thilmany / Colorado State University 
+ Allison Bauman / Colorado State University
+ Eli Zigas / SPUR

This event is FREE, but registration is required (via this registration page).

Full details at:
https://www.spur.org/events/2021-02-04/economic-benefits-dramatically-expanding-healthy-food-incentives