The Economic Benefits of Dramatically Expanding Healthy Food Incentives

Start: 12:30 p.m (PT), 1:30 (MT), 2:30 (CT), 3:30 (ET)
Length: 1 hour


For over a decade, healthy food incentive programs have increased the purchasing power of low-income families to buy fruits and vegetables at grocery stores and farmers’ markets. Research has long demonstrated that these programs reduce hunger, improve nutrition and support local agriculture and retail. What wasn’t understood until now is how large the economic impact could be if these programs were expanded statewide — or even nationwide. Learn about a powerful new study conducted by Colorado State University, in partnership with SPUR, Fair Food Network and 10 partners from around the country, that models the economic return, in revenue and jobs, if policymakers supported a deep investment in scaling up these programs.

Co-presented by SPUR and Fair Food Network.

Holly Parker / Fair Food Network
+ Ronit Ridberg / UC Davis
+ Dawn Thilmany / Colorado State University 
+ Allison Bauman / Colorado State University
+ Eli Zigas / SPUR

This event is FREE, but registration is required (via this registration page).

Full details at:
https://www.spur.org/events/2021-02-04/economic-benefits-dramatically-expanding-healthy-food-incentives

Event Properties

Event Date 2/4/2021 3:30 pm ET
Individual Price Free